About Taekwondo

On April 11th, 1955, Taekwondo was recognized as the name for the newly unified, officially recognized Korean martial art. As as interesting side note, the word Taekwondo itself is made up of three Chinese/Korean words:

Tae, meaning to kick or jump,

Kwon, meaning first or hand, and

Do,  meaning the way.

Taekwondo is characterized by its emphasis on head-height kicks, jumping and spinniz kicks and fast kicking techniques.


Taekwondo Provides Following Things:

    1. Forms also called as Poomsae simply the English translations “pattern” or “form” by WTF – these serve the same function as kata in the study of Karate.
    2. Sparring – also called Gyeorugi – includes variations such as free style sparring, step sparring and point sparring.
    3. Breaking – also called as Gyeokpa – the breaking of boards is used for testing, training and martial art demonstrations. Demonstrations ofter also incorporate bricks, tiles, and blocks of ice or other materials.
    4. Self-defense techniques (hosinsool).
    5. Learning the fundamental techniques, these generally include kicks, blocks, punches and strikes with somewhat less emphasis on grappling and holds.
    6. Throwing  and/or falling techniques (deonjigi).
    7. Both anaerobic and aerobic workout, including stretching.
    8. Relaxation and meditation exercises, as well as breathing control.
    9. A focus on mental and ethical discipline, etiquette, justice, respect and self confidence.
    10. Examination to progress to the next rank.
    11. Development of personia success and leadership skills.